Introducing the 2019 Top Shelf Judges

We are pleased to introduce an impressive cast of experts who are renown creatives in the art of book design, who will graciously lend their time and expertise to the Top Shelf program this year.

Dana Tanamachi

Dana Tanamachi is a lettering artist and designer who enjoys living a quiet life and working with her hands. After working under design icon Louise Fili, she opened Tanamachi Studio, a boutique design studio specializing in custom typography and illustration for editorial, lifestyle, food, and fashion brands. She has been commissioned globally by clients such as Target, Nike, USPS, Penguin Books, Ralph Lauren, Instagram, and West Elm. Named a Young Gun (YG9) by the Art Director’s Club in 2011 and a Young Creative to Watch by HOW Magazine, she has had the distinct honor of creating custom cover art for O, HOW, and TIME Magazines.

Team Member

Jason Ramirez

Jason is an award-winning designer and art director with Viking and Penguin Books. Previously he worked with St. Martin’s Press and Rodrigo Corral Design. His work has earned recognition and honors from Communication Arts and Print magazines, the Type Directors Club, the AIGA-Design Observer 50 Books | 50 Covers competition and the New York Book Show. In addition, his projects have been published in several books related to graphic design and publishing. Jason is a graduate of Parsons School of Design and the University of Rochester.

Team Member

Richard Ljoenes

Richard Ljoenes is a Designer and Art Director based in New York City. He primarily works on print-based design—book covers and illustrated book interiors, but his background also includes advertising and corporate identity. Clients include HarperCollins, Ecco, Morrow, Simon & Schuster, W. W. Norton, Hachette, Penguin Random House, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Restless Books, Regan Arts, and Bloomsbury. His design and art direction has been awarded and recognized by The One Show, Type Directors Club, Communication Arts Design and Typography Annuals, The Cannes Lions Awards, Art Directors Club, AIGA’s 50 Books | 50 Covers, Graphis, Print Magazine, How Magazine International Design Awards, Time Magazine, The New York Book Show, and Graphic Design USA who recently named him a designer to watch in 2018.

Team Member